Skip to content

TN History for Kids

Elem Seven: Election Day

Tennessee Governor Bill Lee
Office of Tennessee Governor Bill Lee photo

On November 6, 2018, Tennessee elected:

* A new governor, Bill Lee.

* A new U.S. senator, Marsha Blackburn, who replaced retiring Senator Bob Corker.

* Nine members of the Tennessee House of Representatives (Phil Roe, Tim Burchett, Charles Fleischmann, Scott DesJarlias, Jim Cooper, John Rose, Mark Green, David Kustoff, and Steve Cohen).

U.S. Senator Marsha Blackburn, who is a Republican
Office of U.S. Senator Marsha Blackburn photo

Since Tennessee's governor is on a four-year term, Bill Lee won't be up for re-election until 2022.

All states have two U.S. Senators. Tennessee's other senate seat, held by Lamar Alexander, is up for re-election in 2020.

However, Senator Alexander has already announced that he is not running for re-election, so people are already beginning to announce that they will be campaigning for that seat.

U.S. Representative Steve Cohen, who is a Democrat
Office of U.S. Representative Steve Cohen


All nine of Tennessee's U.S. Representatives will be up for reelection in 2020.

And now we are going to see if you learned anything from this Elementary Civics section. Click here to take the interactive quiz.